Skip to main content

Driving Without Insurance in Texas

#Truth

Driving without insurance, always a huge risk. Some choose to do it, others do not. Regardless of where you fall, knowing the consequences of driving without insurance in Texas is important. The penalties are harsh no matter how you look at it.

Getting Caught Without Insurance

In Texas, drivers are required to carry a stated minimum of liability coverage ($25,000 for property damage, $30,000 per person/$60,000 per accident for personal injury). And while most drivers comply with the minimum requirements, there are still many out on Texas roads that do not. There are some estimates out there that put the number of uninsured drivers hovers around 20-25%. If you’re part of the uninsured group, here’s what could happen to you if you’re caught.

First Time Offense

The first time you get caught without valid insurance in Texas, you’ll probably get off lightly compared to other states. First time offenders will, by law, be cited and fined between $175-$350. Additionally, a surcharge of $250 will be added to your annual driver’s license fee for the next three years. In total, you’re looking at close to $1,000 for the first offense!

Further Offenses

After the first offense, the cost only rapidly increases for subsequent convictions. If you’re caught a second time without insurance, you’ll be fined between $350-$1000 and you’ll still have to pay the additional license fee of $250 for the next three years. But wait, there’s more! Repeat offenders risk having their license revoked and vehicle impounded. If this happens, it becomes tricky and a lot of work to get your license reinstated and your car back from the impound lot. Keep in mind, impound lots are not cheap! The cost of driving without insurance in Texas have gone up from hundreds to potentially thousands of dollars in fines, fees, and additional expenses. Keeping your insurance current is most assuredly the better financial option.

Other Realities

While the fees and penalties have been outlined, the ramifications of driving without insurance go even further. If you get into an accident that’s your fault and someone is injured, you could be out thousands upon thousands of dollars from your own pocket. In Texas, you can be held 100% liable for any and all physical injuries and property damage related to a vehicle accident you caused. This is not just car specific; you could be on the hook for the medical expenses of the injured party as well.

Worth the Risk?

In short, probably not. Driving without insurance is a risky endeavor and if caught, could end up costing you big time. Here at Ramey King, we pride ourselves on finding the best rate and coverage possible for you and your family. Contact us today at 940-382-9691 to discuss your options!